Life as a Manager

Saturday, October 29, 2005


My Child, K.C. Posted by Picasa

Wednesday, October 26, 2005

Can't Wait

I am counting down the days to Turkey Day..
Yeah, Yeah, Yeah,
Hotel will beat last months goal. We are already at 176 rooms. only need 860 for the month. I think we will pull it off.

I am training one of my employees to become a manager. She really wants to and there seems to always be an opening somewhere. It is fun training someone new.
Well, had to fire a housekeeper. She always was late or called off on Saturday, told her if she was late again she would be fired. Guess she didn't believe me cause she was late again so I got rid of her. Made my head housekeeper happy cause she says I'm toooo nice.

Front desk doing well, sortuve, they do fine at the job, still little things they need to fine tune. Right now they all want to be the #1 dog so they are nit picking each other to death. I am having to stand in the middle to keep some type of harmony.
One sad thing. A friend of mine was hired before I became manager. I had no idea I would become one sooo quickly. Sue does a great job most of the time, but it is kinduve wierd having to correct a friend. What if I had to fire her???? That would put a hold on our friendship!!!! I wish I wasn't in this position because she is one of the people nit picking the others. :(

Other than the normal crazy stuff I still love my job and can't wait to go back tommorrow. I feel like I live there. My roommate just cringes every time my phone rings. It is always from work.

Well have a great day

Monday, October 17, 2005

A relaxing day

Besides eight years of paper work. and a P & L statement past due.. Today was a very relaxing day at work. P&L is a Profit and Loss statement. It is almost funny because I have no say in 80 percent of the budget but I have to give a statement on how I am to make more money. Okay if I can't give my say on how the money is spent, how on earth can I be responsible for the fact the hotel doesn't make money..

(Those of you who don't know. I work for a hotel that claims they have not made any money on the hotel in like 5 years.) Okay if you were losing money for like 5 years wouldn't you sell the place or file for bankrupcy. How do they keep the doors open???? Well, I say the paperwork for last year stating how much money they made each month and how much it costs to run. Well, they like made money two months and loss 5 times that amount the other months.

I have ideas to save money but they don't like my ideas. Like why serve a full service hot breakfast. It is very very expensive. The best hotels in the country don't give you as many choices and their rooms cost twice as much. But those ideas I have to keep to myself..

Anyway in a year or so I will be in a nice new hotel (Lord willing) making a lot more money and actually being a real manager. I can't wait..
Adios

Friday, October 14, 2005

Problems...OH problems

My greatest problem as a manager is that I take after the person who really trained my. My previous manager.. basically,, I'm toooo nice..
I should fire people more often, but I hate it when coporate gets upset about paying into unemployment..
I've learned you suffer when you keep them, you suffer when you get rid of them. To bad the bad housekeepers just won't quit. That would save me a lot of time and effort.
I need to be mean.. I just don't have the heart.. Also I don't want coporate complaining.

Besides my love of the hotel. My previous manager Joe got a new job at another hotel. I'm happy for him, but I also know that he won't like it there either.. He hates the idea of working weekends, or holidays. I hope he doesn't try to take my workers. I have a few great ones and I don't want him to steal them away..

Misty

Wednesday, October 12, 2005

Camping

Well, even hard working girls need a day off..
Many of my friends were going to shipshawana for a fall festival. Basically an excuse to spend lots of money they don't have. Anyway, my roommate and I got this crazy idea to camp out in shipshawana and then meet the gang the next day.
Okay, for starters the temperature was like 30 degrees at night. Not what I would call a great evening of fun. The fire kept us warm and we had great sleeping bags. But it was colder in the morning than it was at night. BRRRRRRRR.
Also not many other campers so there weren't any cute guys around.. Only married ones.
The funny side. We cooked all of our food over the open fire. Hotdogs and marshmellows were easy. But in the morning we had bacon and eggs. The tiny skillet we brought was perfect for the eggs.
My roommate had the bright idea to use the hotdog forks to cook the bacon. Outcome, well lets just say extra crispy on the ends and raw in the middle. That was her food. We had a grate we were using to put the skillet on. So I just laid the bacon over that to cook. Outcome, Delicious bacon. My FOOD.. Anyway I have pictures, whenever I get time to download them I'll post a few.
This was my first real camping trip.. Have to say I will actually do this again. Only next time I'll go in warmer weather!!!!!

Wednesday, October 05, 2005

Twidle Dee and Dwidle Dumb

Okay, Today I am paying tribute to two constrution workers who spent over two years at my hotel. They checked in almost every Monday and checked out almost every Thursday of every week.
Twidle Dee - There's not much to say about him. He was spanish, almost but not really cute and very quiet. He was always really shy and smiled really big if you asked him any questions. I thought it was funny because every one of the front desk girls thought he liked them. I think he was just overly shy.

Twidle Dumb - I never fully understood. Short with lots of tatoos and a hole in his ear. It had a round object in it that was almost 1/2 in diameter. He also carried a picture of this drop dead gorgeous girl in his pocket. I just found out that was his WIFE???? Yes the boy is married to a very hot woman. The type of girl most guys could only dream about. Now you ask why this is such a shock to me.

The dude had a size 8 sexy mama at home and was sleeping around with 200 pound women that looked..... Well, lets just say there is no comparision to what he had at home. I just don't get it. If you got something decent to come home to, why risk it for a one night stand. I then found out that he actually tryed to get with every front desk girl I have. They knew they would be fired so they turned him down. Or at least I think they did. Lets just say if it has two legs. He was after it!!!!!!!!

Some things just don't suprise me anymore.
Adios for now.

Monday, October 03, 2005

Piere

We have a night club a few miles down. I have never been in the doors, nor do I care to venture into that world. However that world often comes to me. They come in drunk, not a little drunk sooooo drunk they don't realize there is a glass door and they go nose first into it. SMACK.. Not so bad except we have to clean the snot up.

Piere came in off the night club van and asked for a cab at 3am.. 3rd girl knew he was not a guest of the hotel so she called a cab and Piere waited on the couch. Within 5 min. Piere was fast asleep. The cab driver was no help at all, the crazy man just walked in and said "He doesn't need a cab" and walked out. I came in at 6am and woke him up.

"Do you want coffee, or a cab" I asked. I think he said no but with the slurred speach he could have been cussing me out and I would have had no idea.

He got up and headed to the bathroom. Or so I thought. A few minutes went by and I started looking for him again. Under the stairwell I found Piere. Yes Sound asleep. Two boys from the hotel were eyeing him. I think they wanted to pounce on him and run. I should have let them but decided to call the cops.

The cops came took his credit card and got him a room. They claimed they had his permission but I don't think he even knew his name. A few hours later he woke up and asked for a cab again. He didn't even ask for a receipt just seemed upset and left.

Morale, Don't go partying, Don't Drink. You may end up spending over $70 dollars for a room you didn't ask for and a cleaning bill for a couch you peed on. I doubt he ever found what he was looking for.
And they ask me why I don't want to go clubbing? Like DUHHH. I always answer the same way and so far no one has argued with me. Tell me what I'm truly missing and I'll tell you what I'm not missing.
I'm not missing Hang overs, headaches, waking up in strange places, robbed, killed, fighting. And I will have my hearing when I'm 80!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So I guess I'll stay little miss christian. That is the only life for me.

Another Day in Paradise

Today while working I sat for awhile and watched the people come and go. I saw the business man running to his next appointment. The foundry worker staying until he gets his apartment. (The foundry dude is very lonely) The family already agitated and not looking forward to thier trip home. The couple who is happy they are married and just glow with love. The saved and the unsaved the happy and the sad. The ones who are searching and those who have found what they are looking for.
Many I feel sorry for, I wonder when they will realize that what they want is right in front of them. All they have to do is reach out and grab it.
Others I envy, They are content with their choices in life and glow with a peace and happiness. Those type of people are harder and harder to find.

For the next few days I'm going to tell you stories of some of the people I have met and seen. For the younger ones reading this. These are real people (not their real names), maybe someone you will want to be like or maybe you could learn from their mistake and not do the same thing.